Saturday , March 24 2018
Home / news / entertainment / Mikel, Ighalo, Moses Dropped as Rohr Names 23 for Nigeria v South Africa

Mikel, Ighalo, Moses Dropped as Rohr Names 23 for Nigeria v South Africa

Super Eagles captain John Obi Mikel hasn’t made the cut as head coach Gernot Rohr names a 23-man squad for Nigeria’s 2019 Africa Cup of Nations Qualifier against South Africa.

Also missing from the squad are Changchun Yatai striker Odion Ighalo and Chelsea wing-back Victor Moses.

Mikel was in a race against time to be fit for the crucial Afcon cracker following surgery to correct a back injury in April, while Moses misses out after a toe injury picked up in the FA Cup final loss to Arsenal last Saturday.

Charged with leading the Eagles in the commencement of the race to Cameroon 2019 are Premier League trio Kelechi Iheanacho, Alex Iwobi and Ahmed Musa.

Others are stand-in captain Ogenyi Onazi, Moses Simon, John Ogu and rave of the moment, Wilfred Ndidi.

Mainz 05 defender Leon Balogun misses out to injury, with William Troost-Ekong set to be paired alongside Kenneth Omeruo in central defence.

Striking sensations Kayode Olarewaju and new Arsenal boy, Henry Onyekuru will look to impress on their full debuts, while the versatile Oghenekaro Etebo will be expected to support the attack with probing runs from deep.

Goalkeeper Dele Alampasu comes in for injured no 1, Carl Ikeme as the Eagles are looking to make the perfect start when they take on Bafana Bafana June 10 at the Godswill Akpabio Stadium, Uyo.




Source: Olisatv

About tosin akinbami

Check Also

Colton Haynes’ Mother Has Died After Liver Complications: ‘I’m in a State of Shock’

Colton Haynes shared some devastating news with his fans on Friday. The Arrow actor, 29, revealed his mother, …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *