Wednesday , June 26 2019
Home / news / entertainment / Rohr Releases Nigeria’s 30-Man Provisional World Cup List

Rohr Releases Nigeria’s 30-Man Provisional World Cup List

Super Eagles coach Gernot Rohr has released a 30-man provisional squad for the Russia 2018 World Cup in the summer. Kano Pillars striker Junior Lokosa and Crotone attacker Simeon Nwankwo are the surprise inclusions as Malaga’s Brown Ideye has been left out. Everton striker Henry Onyekuru has also been snubbed despite recovering quickly from an injury that kept him out for four months.


Most of the players that executed the qualification campaign to the football showpeice were included in the squad. The Nigerian team will play Democratic Republic of Congo (DRC) in Port Harcourt on May 25, after which the final squad will be announced. The Super Eagles will then depart the country to play England and the Czech Republic on June 2 and June 5 respectively.

Nigeria have been grouped alongside Croatia, Iceland, and Argentina in Group D when the competition starts proper. The Green and White have never made it past the second round of a World Cup tournament but many pundits have tipped Mikel Obi’s led side to reach the semi finals.










About tosin akinbami

Check Also

Artists sue Universal for $100m over fire that destroyed thousands of recordings

Several prominent musicians are suing the world’s largest record label, Universal Music, after learning their …