Wednesday , October 17 2018
Home / news / world / ‘Why dead Nigerians were included in President Buhari’s recent appointment’ -Presidency

‘Why dead Nigerians were included in President Buhari’s recent appointment’ -Presidency

Nigeria’s Presidency which has been under fire following the inclusion of 3 dead Nigerians in President Buhari’s recent appointment, has reacted to the viral report.

In a telephone interview with Premium Times about the appointees for boards of various Federal government parastatals that was released yesterday December 29th, President Buhari’s media aide, Garba Shehudisclosed that those appointed have a ‘history’ with the presidency.

According to him, upon President Buhari’s election as President, state chapters of APC were asked to submit names of 50 party members to be considered for board appointment, but Governors protested against it saying they were not carried along.

To pacify the Governors, a  committee under the leadership of Vice-President Yemi Osinbajo was inaugurated, to review and reflect the interest of the governors, however President Buhari’s illness paused the appointment process.

Shehu Garba who said there is no need describing the list as scandalous as the errors would be corrected immediately, said;

“The president’s trips for medical attention slowed down completion of the process,” he said, until when Mr Buhari decided to revisit the matter recently.

“The current SGF was only directed to complete that process by releasing the list which he apparently did without altering it”.

President Muhammadu Buhari on Friday night appointed 209 board chairmen and 1,258 members of government owned agencies and parastatals, redeeming a part of the pledge he made 31 October at the National Executive Committee meeting of the All Progressives Congress (APC).

The latest appointments, the largest President Buhari ever made since 2015, saw Dapo Abiodun, Chairman of Heyden Petroleum, who contested for the senatorial seat of Ogun East in the 2015 election named as the new chairman of Corporate Affairs Commission.

Buhari also appointed himself as the chairman of the National Agency for Science and Engineering Infrastructure (NASENI) and head of Nigerian Nuclear Regulatory Authority.

The party’s legal adviser, Muiz Banire is now the chairman of the Asset Management Company of Nigeria(AMCON)Senator Olorunimbe Mamora is the chairman of Abuja Investment and Infrastructure Centre.

The party’s secretary, Mai Mala Buni, is the chairman of the Shippers Council. Bolaji Abdullahi, the publicity secretary of the party is in charge of the National Sugar Development Council (NSDC).

Former Speaker House of Representatives, Patricia Etteh, who was docked for corruption, is the new chairman of the National Hospital, Abuja. A former deputy speaker, Chibudom Nwuche is in charge of Federal Medical Centre Lokoja.

Dr. Leke Pitan, a former commissioner for health in Lagos was appointed chairman of National Agricultural Extension Research Liaison Services in Zaria. Teju Philips, also a former Lagos commissioner is the chairman of Federal College of Agriculture, Ibadan. Pastor Yomi Kasali will head the Nigerian Christian Pilgrims Commission.

George Moghalu is the chairman of the Nigerian Communications Satellite (NIGCOMSAT). General John Shagaya is the chairman of National Institute for Policy and Strategic Studies, Kuru Jos.

Former governors of Ekiti state, Otunba Niyi Adebayo and Engineer Segun Oniwere also named as chairmen. Adebayo is in charge of Federal Airports Authority of Nigeria (FAAN). Oni who is a vice-chairman of the APC has been posted to Nigerian Export Processing Zone. Senator Ayo Arise, a recent kidnap victim will chair Sheda Science and Technology Complex.

Former deputy governor of Plateau state, Pauline Tallen is the new chairman of National Agency for the Control of HIV/AIDS (NACA).

Former deputy governor of Ondo state, Ali Olanusi, will chair the Benin-Owena River Basin Development Authority, while a former deputy governor of Lagos, Femi Pedro is the chairman of Small and Medium Enterprise Development Agency of Nigeria.

Timi Alaibe, former Managing director of the Niger Delta Development Commission, is heading to Oil and Gas Free Zone Authority as chairman.

Twitter users, scouring the list, also discovered that three of the people appointed have long passed.

Senator Francis Okpozo, who passed December 2016, was appointed the Chairman of the Nigerian Press Council.

Reverend Christopher Utov, who passed in March 2017, sits on the board of the Nigerian Institute of Social and Economic Research.

Donald Ugbaja, who passed in November, was also added to the board of the Consumer Protection Council.


About tosin akinbami

Check Also

Patrick Obahiagbon Wins APC Senatorial Ticket

Former House of Rep. member, Patrick Obahiagbon, has emerged All Progressives Congress (APC) Edo South …